How to Close Facebook Account

Affiliate disclosure: In full transparency – some of the links on our website are affiliate links, if you use them to make a purchase we will earn a commission at no additional cost for you (none whatsoever!).

Are you done with Facebook? Do you want to delete or close your Facebook account? If these questions surround you then you are certainly at the right place. In this article we will tell you how to close Facebook account? So, let’s get started:

How to close Facebook account?

How to permanently delete a Facebook account?

Step #1: In order to permanently delete your Facebook account, the very first thing you need to do is log in to your Facebook.com. As obvious it is that you might know how to log in to Facebook but for the sake of formality we will tell you that you can do so by visiting www.facebook.com and then typing in your Email or phone and the corresponding password.

Once you are done entering the required then you need to click on “Log in” button. This is how you can log in to Facebook and this is exactly what you are required to do as the first step.

Step #2: Now, once you have logged in to your Facebook account then you are now required to navigate for the “General Account Settings”. It occupies its position under the settings option and is the very first option there. Once you have found that then you have to click on it.

We are heading to “General account settings” because you might want to save the data which is associated to your account because once you have deleted your account then you cannot retrieve the data. This is why Facebook facilitates it’s users with a facility to download the corresponding data associated with their respective accounts. So, for this under the “General account settings” header, locate for the “Download a copy” link. Once you have found so, click on it. This way you will receive your account data.

Alternatively, you can also do this manually by copying and saving the data from your account. You can opt for either way whichever is convenient for you. Once you are done with the backup of your data then you are all set to go further to the next steps.

Step #3: Now, it’s not so easy to find the “Delete my account” page on Facebook but you can certainly find it somewhere in the help section of Facebook. For your convenience, you can directly jump to the “Delete my account page” by clicking on this link.

delete-facebook-account

Clicking on this link will open a web page for you where you see the “Delete my account” button. If you are sure enough to delete your account then go and click on the “Delete my account” button.

Step #4: Now, if you have successfully completed the previous step then in the subsequent window you will be asked to enter a captcha and your Password. Just do the required and proceed further by clicking on the “OK” button.

Clicking on the OK button will result in a dialog box which will ask for your confirmation regarding the permanent deletion of the account.

If you will hit OK then your account will be deactivated instantly but it will take good 14 days to permanently delete your account. However, if somehow you changed your mind to get back to your Facebook account within these 14 days then you can simply log in to your Facebook account with the corresponding credentials and your account will not get deleted.

If you didn’t logged in to the account for these 14 days tenure then your account will be deleted after that.

How to temporary deactivate your Facebook account?

Step #1: As the initial step all what you require is to log in to your Facebook account. We assume that there is no need to tell you how to log in to Facebook now. So, as of now we assume that you have logged in to the Facebook account and are ready to move to the next steps.

Step #2: Now, in this step all what you require is to navigate for the settings option. You can get to settings option by clicking on the “Down arrow” like icon at the top right corner of the window. This will result in a contextual menu where you can easily find the settings option. Once found, click on it.

Step #3: Now, once you are in the settings section then you now require clicking on the “Security settings” tab which you can easily find out at the left pane just beneath the “General settings” tab.

In the security settings, click on the “Deactivate your account” option. This will result in a subsequent web page which will tell you about the processes and the consequences about the deactivation of account.
In between all this, you might be asked to enter your password. So, just enter it.

If you are sure enough to deactivate your Facebook account then scroll throughout the things and locate for the “Deactivate” link and click on it.

As a result of the previous click you will asked to confirm the deactivation and you will also be asked to give a reason for the same. Just do the required and click on confirm.

This way you are done with the deactivation process. Remember that you can easily activate your account just by logging in to your Facebook account with the corresponding credentials. Moreover, deactivating your account doesn’t mean that you will lose any data. The only thing which it will do is that your profile will not be visible to anyone.

Wrapping Up.

This wrapping up section marks the end of this article on “How to close Facebook account?“We hope that this article has helped you in your quest about closing a Facebook account. If it has helped you in any way then do spread the words by giving it social flares and sharing it among your peers.

Moreover, if you are left with any kind of feedback or query, then do let us know by dropping a line in the comments section right below. We would love to hear from you.

Thank you for passing by and giving it a read.
For more of such articles on Facebook, do not forget to visit this link.

Shubham Bhatt

A student of life, writer, technology freak, and a thinker. Like to invest my time into Digital Marketing and help clients easily reach their marketing goals with proven strategies and roadmaps.

Leave a Comment